In the Eyes of an Introvert

In the Eyes of an Introvert

I am an introvert first of all. And no, it does not mean I’m anti-social, boring, or a loner. These are probably the stereotypical things that come to people’s minds when they think of introvert. But, they’re wrong. There is a thin line between what I think and what i actually say. Introverts like to socialize with others but just in smaller numbers. They prefer to stay at home and read a nice book they’re really interested in rather than go out partying. They like their own privacy. However, there can be a downside to being an introvert at times. It’s hard to talk to people who you want to get to know. It’s difficult to talk in front of people, let alone crowds of people. People say just to get over it but the thing is, you just can’t get over it. It’s just how we are.

It’s actually quite funny how little, most people in life know about you. They only know what I choose to reveal about myself. They just scratched the surface of who I really am. They don’t know the difference between my interest and my obsessions. They don’t know what books and movies I enjoy. They don’t know what I’ve experienced. They just don’t know. And I kind of prefer it that way because if they were to know the things that I keep from everyone, it’ll give them power. The power of judgment. The power to criticize me and the things I’ve done.

I suppose everyone is an extrovert at birth. Where they have no shame and just let their colors show in the earlier stages in their lives. However, the reality that sets them apart from each other is the experiences that happen to them that lead them to evolving into an introvert.

I’ve shared a piece of me and was shot down. The thing is that if you really want to get to know me, you’d have to keep on digging and digging until you get to a deeper side of me. The side where my true self is. And anyone that is willing to make that effort is someone worth keeping, worth standing by. What I’ve learned is that in order to share a piece of me, I have to really trust that person. This is why I keep to myself when I encounter people. This is why it’s harder for me to talk about myself and show who I really am because I have been stabbed in the back so many times before.

In my eyes, I’m more of a listener. I rather stay quiet and just listen and learn. I am more aware of my surroundings because all I do is observe everything. I see the little details in things instead of the main components.

Probably the best thing about introverts is that if you do get to know one and you get them to feel comfortable with you, they can be the absolute funniest and most enjoyable people to be around. Once they feel comfortable with you, it’s like they’re sharing a secret with you and that secret is their personality.

5 thoughts on “In the Eyes of an Introvert

  1. I’m an introvert as well! I feel people just don’t really get that we still do stuff, we just can’t be around people all the time. Its annoying that people assume that we’re devoid of personality or emotions, instead we just prefer to keep them inside. Great post!

  2. Reblogged this on iamwhatipretendtobe and commented:
    I feel like I could have written this myself. Absolutely on point.

  3. This is great! Thanks for letting me know about your post. I felt as if I could have written it.

  4. I love this post. Felt as if I was reading my own thoughts.

Leave a Reply

